Substitute Care Advisory Council Members (Council)

The Act establishes 9 appointed members to the Substitute Care Advisory Council.

Four members are representatives of specific state agencies;
Five members are appointed by the Governor.

New Mexico State Agency


Secretary of Health (DOH)
or the secretary’s designee

Secretary of Human Services (HSD)
or the secretary’s designee

Secretary of Finance and Administration (DFA)         
or the secretary’s designee

Secretary of Public Education (PED)
or the secretary’s designee


Appointed by Governor

 Children’s Court Judge


Two public members who have expertise in
the area of child welfare.


Two public members who are at least 18 and no
more than 30 years of age at the time of appointment and who were previously in substitute care.

   Current Appointment

Dawn Sanchez
Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer

Betina G. McCracken
Director Child Support Services Division

Renee M. Ward, MHA, Vice-Chair
Deputy Cabinet Secretary

Simone Vann                                                                  Identity, Equity and Transformation/PED Foster Care POC

Alma C. Roberson                                                         Second Judicial District

Sean W. Scates, Chair                                                       Lela Wendell

Holly Hemminger

If you are interested in serving on the Substitute Care Advisory Council submit an application: